Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ztgtt Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 19, 2007, 10:32 PM
    Can married F1 students contribute to ROTH IRA?
    Hi, I am an international student in US. I am filing the 1040NR-EZ form currently and accordign to the instructions for alien students, my filing status is "single" although I have been married for four years. I wonder whether I can contribute to ROTH IRA before I become a resident alien. My concern is, in the publication, it says:

Married filing separately (if the couple lived together for any part of the year): $0 (to qualify for a full contribution); $0-$10,000 (to be eligible for a partial contribution).

My AGI is over 10000 now. Can I still contribute to ROTH IRA?

Thanks a lot!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 20, 2007, 12:46 PM
    Yes, you CAN contribute to the ROTH IRA.

For purposes of contributing to the ROTH IRA, you are considered SINGLE.
    The Texas Tax Expert Posts: 310, Reputation: 7

Jul 20, 2007, 02:50 PM
    IF you're married filing separately the Roth is basically not an option.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 21, 2007, 10:45 AM
    I will bow to TTE's greater expertise on this matter regarding the filing status.

However, if you are converting to H-1 or H-1B this year, you CAN file jointly with your wife and boht choose to be treated as resident resident aliens. This makes the ROTH IRA a possible option for 2007.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Should I/how to convert IRA-BDA to a Roth IRA [ 0 Answers ]