Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jentifo Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 25, 2007, 11:49 AM
    My ex doesn't want to provide...
    My "ex" has been "starting a business" for about 4 years now. As you can imagine- he has not been consistent paying child support during this time. I'm wondering how to prove his income when I finally take him to court ( I have every reason to believe he is making some sort of money, he travels a lot on business- I know his wife has job. )

Also, he's hasn't paid in several months and like to send him and e-mail "reminding" him to pay... I'm not good with words and I'd would like some advice about how to do this without seeming offensive or confrontational...

Thank you,

J.
    seanmikel Posts: 7, Reputation: 2

Feb 3, 2007, 12:15 AM
    "I'm not good with words and I'd would like some advice about how to do this without seeming offensive or confrontational..."

... dear, dear, dear... the last thing you need to be concerned about is being offensive/confrontational... he wasn't too concerned about leaving you and your child w/ no money or he would've made it a point to be prompt/on-time with his payments... however, if you want to truly find out what you need to know, talk-to/hire a lawyer because they can subpoena his financial records when it comes to child-support issues, otherwise all single fathers would make no more than 10-12K per year and would pay hardly anything in child support, it's all based on income and so if he won't tell you, MAKE him tell you!

Hope that helps, don't be afraid to stand up for your child!
    msrandolph Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 22, 2008, 12:50 PM