Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Scotty13 Posts: 120, Reputation: 1

Mar 6, 2011, 07:32 PM
    My Drywall Repair Turned Into A SORE THUMB
    I just recently patched up some holes in my bathrooms were the ceramic towel and toilet paper was. This is my first time doing something like this. They seemed to turn out okay, until I painted over them and now they stand out like a sore thumb. Any suggestion how I can fix this bore I take a hammer, make another hole and start over?

Thanks, Scotty
    creahands Posts: 2,854, Reputation: 195
    Ultra Member

Mar 6, 2011, 07:48 PM

Can u explain how u fixed them?

If u didn't prime and paint the whole wall, the patch will show because of oxidation of old paint.

Chuck

Mar 6, 2011, 08:07 PM
    I cut the drywall to fit and taped them down with joint tape. They seemed to start even to the wall. I was< I thought I was using the joint compound evenly.
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Mar 6, 2011, 08:18 PM

they stand out like a sore thumb
    I am assuming that that means you can see the edges or outline of the patch. That means you didn't sand well enough. When sanding drywall joint compound (mud) it is the edges you have to watch. When sanding joint compound if you can see where the mud starts or stops, chances are that it will show through the paint. The edges need to fade away so that you can't be sure where it starts or stops.

Now, you can sand away the paint to get down to the mud. You only have to sand the edges of the patch, not the whole patch. The center will take care of it self. I don't know how long it has been since you painted but you will probably have to wait a week or so to sand. The paint is dry on the surface but is probably still soft under the surface. It will only clog up the sandpaper.

Or, you can cover the edges of the patches with more joint compound, let dry and then sand smooth. Then re-paint.