Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JasonT3rd Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2007, 09:37 PM
    CPVC Couplings
    I am looking for a cpvc coupling that does not have a stop. Perhaps my local Lowe's just does not stock it, but it seems like a pretty normal item? They do stock one with a stop, but not without.

Well, I am a pretty novice plumber but have done a few DIY repairs around the house. Perhaps I have the wrong idea on how to fix it but my question is... If you have two solid pipes, meaning they are BOTH fixed and cannot be moved or even flexed at all... then how do you connect them?? I have done this with copper because there is a 4-6" coupling without a stop at my local Lowes and you can cut the pipes that extend towards each other to be pretty close...then slide the coupling down and solder both ends. First, I am assuming that is the proper repair method for copper in that situation??

Second, if I am in the same situation with CPVC, which unfortunately I am, without some crazy "convert to copper and solder your coupling" or something like that... haha... someone please lend some advice!

Also, thanks in advance... I must say I have used this site just to read peoples answers and responses as I've been working on this project and it has been extremely helpful. Some very knowledgeable people here! Thanks again!

Jason
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jan 16, 2007, 04:59 AM
    You can buy CPCV compression unions at Lowe's. They are about $2 for a 3/4''. You can slide one all the way on to one pipe, add the second pipe and slide it back over the joint and tighten up the ends. The joint can be undone anytime. I have used them mostly for joining copper and CPVC. They will work on almost any pipe. To be safe, use a mechanical anchor for the pipes. In your application, the pipes may not move as is.

Jan 16, 2007, 08:30 AM