Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hebaa Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 15, 2010, 01:44 PM
    What happens if a tenant breaks a lease in Miami?
    I am a student and have to leave Miami because I changed my school to another state, but the landlord insists that I have to pay all the remains months. What should I do?
    hebaa Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 15, 2010, 02:08 PM
    The landlord already kept the security deposit and still ask me to pay ?
    As I said before I'm a student living in an apartment in Miami for 7 months, but I have to break the lease because I changed my school the contract last for one year.However the landlord forcing me to pay the remains months but he already kept the deposit.
    Please What should I do?
    tazimorandi Posts: 25, Reputation: 3

Jan 10, 2011, 11:31 PM
    In Colorado, you technically are responsible for the remaining 5 months. He has the right to keep the security deposit to make up for any damages or defiency in the rent. If the landlord is a corporation, he probably will go after you if they have attorneys on consignment. Otherwise, if it is a private landlord, chances are he will do nothing except keep your security deposit.

Next time when signing a lease, make them put a clause if relocation may be possible during the term of the lease either because of changing schools or job relocating, that it releases you of the obilgation.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jan 11, 2011, 07:11 AM

Hello h:

You are, of course, responsible for the rest of your lease... In Colorado, as in EVERY other state, the landlord is required to MITIGATE your damages... That means he MUST try to re-rent the apartment as soon as he possibly can in order to save you money...

In Florida, that isn't a requirement... Your landlord can just sit back and collect rent from you on your empty apartment... There's actually NOTHING you can do about it.

excon