Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Silver Touch Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Dec 23, 2006, 10:28 PM
    Crack in Cast Iron Main soil stack
    :confused: I just moved into a Bi-level house approx. 40-50 years old. It has a Cast Iron Main soil stack (main vertical sewer line).
    On the lower level I noticed that it has a crack that is approx 5"-6" long about 1/4" thick.
    Now I bought a new pluming book because of some other repairs I had to make and it says to use some kind of putty to fill in the crack or it says to build a support and clamp it to the pipe, then cut the cracked section and replace it with PVC.
    I really would like a person to give me some advice before I just read instructions out of a book. THis is my 1st house and I've never done plumbing work before. I'm learning, but I want to make sure everything is OK.

Thanks.
    mjinms Posts: 39, Reputation: 0

Dec 24, 2006, 12:36 AM
    If a welder can get to it get some free estimates on the repair of the crack. It may be patched with a welder. Some people have portable machine they have set up on a truck. Since cast iron is so heavy and durable, it would be hard to cut out bad area and put something else there.
    Silver Touch Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Dec 24, 2006, 02:29 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by mjinms
    If a welder can get to it get some free estimates on the repair of the crack. It may be patched with a welder. some people have portable machine they have set up on a truck. since cast iron is so heavy and durable, it would be hard to cut out bad area and put something else there.
    There is drywall behind it that goes to the living room and 2x4 on the sides. The front was paneling that I removed. In the plubing book I have, it showed a brace made from 2 x 4's attached to a special clamp that supports the pipe and then with a circular saw cut the section of pipe out and then replace with pvc.

I'm trying to tackle this myself if possible.