Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dkelley Posts: 17, Reputation: 1

Jan 28, 2010, 11:07 AM
    reinforce 2x8 floor to hold tile & tub
    I'm remodeling a house built in 1890. The second floor joists are 2x8, 16" OC over 12'. I just removed the cast iron tub out of the sagging bathroom (About 1 1/2' of sag). We want to put in tile and a claw foot. I have no problem removing the old joists. Will 2 - 2x8" be enough or should I go with 3 - 2x8's? Any help would be appreciated.
    mtconc Posts: 119, Reputation: 9

Jan 28, 2010, 12:38 PM

I am not an engineer but I think a laminated beam would be better.. just my thinking.. anybody else?
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jan 28, 2010, 06:45 PM

Keep the old joists and sister in new 2x8s next to them. Glue and screw the two joists together. That should be enough to keep the new floor from sagging. Do not reinstall any dimensional lumber for the floor sub. Use T&G plywood at least 3/4" glued and screwed and then a good backer like Hardiebacker or Wonderboard

Jan 28, 2010, 09:48 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ballengerb1 View Post
    Keep the old joists and sister in new 2x8s next to them. Glue and screw the two joists together. That should be enough to keep the new floor from sagging. Do not reinstall any dimensional lumber for the floor sub. Use T&G plywood at least 3/4" glued and screwed and then a good backer like Hardiebacker or Wonderboard