Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rxnarunner Posts: 99, Reputation: 6

Oct 9, 2009, 11:36 AM
    Selling house.main bathroom issue
    We are selling our house, the main bathroom is in OK condition but a little out dated. Dark ceramic tiles and just not up to today's standards. HOWEVER, a good cleaning and fresh coat of paint will make a difference.

Is it worthe the money to redo the bathroom? Or just keep it simple with the cleaning and paint and new light fixures? I know the bathroom and kitchen can bring you some money. But not sure if we will get the money out of it once its updated.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Oct 10, 2009, 03:52 PM
    Hi Rxnarunner...

Hard to say without seeing the house, of course, but most likely your best bet will be to update a bit and clean well/paint as you suggested. Heck, as a remodeling plumber I can remember quite a few jobs that we did where the original owner remodeled the bathroom only to pass our names on to the new homeowners that had us RIP OUT almost everything we did for the original owners... ;)

To update, beyond clean/paint, maybe you can change the toilet and the sink/faucet out. You can also change the chrome trim around the tub/shower valve... depending on the make of the tub/shower valve.

If you post a couple pics. Here we may be able to give you a more informed opinion...

MARK

Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Oct 10, 2009, 05:28 PM

Had to say, your local real estate agents will know what compared properties are going for. Honestly, it may not be how much extra but even if it will sell if you don't. All depending on the price you want to sell it for.

The last house I bought was at about 1/2 of the selling value of that house 4 years ago. Many homes in this area are seeling for about 1/3 of what they sold for 3 years ago.

Oct 10, 2009, 07:52 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr_Chuck View Post