Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    capgirl49 Posts: 26, Reputation: 0

Oct 8, 2009, 09:47 AM
    Weeping Exzema
    I have girlfriend who has had chronic weeping excema for years... she has tried all sorts of things.. to no avail.. and whenever she has an outbreak (once/twice a year).. it stops her life completely and she has to go the cortisone route... and sometimes these conventional trmnts do not work. Weepening excema starts as itchy, wet blisters that over the course of two weeks harden into cracked and bleeding wounds... it is awful to see and she has to stay home and wear gloves etc. It is not contagious to anyone but her own body.. other areas etc

She has various theories as to why this developed ( she is a housepainter by trade) ands she is also a smoker. The main precursor to an outbreak seems to be heat... ie weather

Before this condition developed she had severe reactions to poison oak and in her mind there is some link there... as in allergic reaction.. morphing into greater chronic dermatological condition. (?)

She cannot handle anything on the outbreaks except clay... not topical ointments or sprays or even raw aloe vera gel! ( This was hard to believe I use Aloe Vera for all kinds of skins problems)

Does anybody have any kind of advice here or pointers?
    shazamataz Posts: 6,642, Reputation: 1244
    Uber Member

Oct 11, 2009, 05:13 AM

I have the same thing... my doctor kept prescribing cortisone creams which did NOTHING to help it.
    Eventually I just tried an eczema cream from the pharmacy (chemist) and it worked great!
    I just put it on and wore my gloves/bandages for 3-4 days and it was gone completely for about a month... it started coming back slightly so I reapplied the cream and bandaged overnight and it was gone again.

I was reading on the internet that the only other treatment was steroid creams with I personally wanted to avoid.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions