Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pikeman Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 6, 2006, 06:24 PM
    Ran leaf blower without oil
    My darling wife ran a Craftsman leaf blower with straight gas - no oil mixed in. It ran about 10 minutes then stopped. The starter cord will not pull. I took it apart and can see what is stopping the cord - 2 spring loaded arms are hitting a round, grooved plastic piece in such a way that it stops (the starter piston, or some such thing).

Is the motor seized and toast? What should I do?

Obviously I'm no mechanic - so thanks for your patience with my description.
    thebriggsdude Posts: 1,096, Reputation: 53
    Ultra Member

Oct 7, 2006, 12:04 AM
    If you took the starter housing off (which those two pawls should catch that plastic piece you referred to, in order to turn the engine over) but with that off, and it still doesn't... yes its toast... and I'm surprised it lasted 10 minutes on straight gas... these engines are basically throw aways... worth more as scrap then to rebuild... does it have any warranty? Sears may actually fix it for you... believe it or not they have fixed them due to the customers mistakes.

By the way, next time... make sure it's a small one gallon can, labeled 2 cycle gas or mix... and make sure she knows it (or anyone else)... that that is just for that... and if its empty, wait till you mix some fresh...
    2 cycles require that oil in the gas... like a 4 cycle requires it in the crankcase or it will burn itself up.
    pikeman Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 7, 2006, 05:00 AM
    UUHHMMM the small one gallaon can WAS labeled! Oh well. It is less than a year old and I will try Sears. I once slammed my fly rod in the truck door and LL Bean replaced it! It's nice when others save us from our mistakes.

Thank you.
    bubbandmargie Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Oct 8, 2006, 08:34 PM