Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ajuboy79 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2009, 06:37 AM
    IRS response to FICA withheld for spouse (F1) last year & Filing jointly this year
    Your Question Was:
    Dear Sir Madam I am a Resident alien for tax purposes for 2008. My wife is a Nonresident alien (F1 visa) for 2008. We have decided to take the choice of filing jointly and treat her as a Resident alien for tax purposes. Her FICA taxes were not withheld during 2008. In the IRS website when I looked at Nonresident Spouse treated as a resident, I saw the following: If you make this choice, you and your spouse are treated as residents for your entire tax year for the purpose of your federal individual income tax return, and for the purpose of withholding U.S. federal income tax from your wages. However, for the purpose of Chapter 3 withholding you may still be treated as a nonresident alien. Refer to Withholding of Tax on Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Corporations (Chapter 3 of the IRC) in Tax Withholding Types. In addition, you may still be treated as a nonresident alien for the purpose of withholding Social Security and Medicare tax. My question is, am I right in assuming that we do not have to worry about the FICA taxes that werent withheld for her in 2008? Also is there anything we need to do now, like as to report to the employer that it needs to be withheld from now on as we have made this choice of treating her as Resident alien for tax purposes? Thank you very much.

The Answer To Your Question Is:
    Hello. Thank you for your inquiry dated March 10, 2009. We apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry. You have questions about the withholding of United States (U.S.) social security and Medicare taxes from your spouse’s pay.

You have not provided enough information to properly answer your question. We will summarize the information that you provided.
    1. You are a U.S. resident alien for 2008.