Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Blunty Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Sep 5, 2006, 07:10 PM
    House Training a Mini Dachshund
    Hey All...First off I'm a newbie to the site and wanted to say that I have been reading on the advice passed from each and am wondering if I can get some ideas. I have a mini dachshund that is 1 yr old. I have had dachshunds all my life but none have ever been this stubborn. My lil Sammie is a devil. He does go outdoors but doesn't hesitate to go indoors as well. I have tried using the crate...but am scared to confuse him. I have tried praising and giving rewards. I'm not sure if he is just marking territory or actually going b/c he really has to go. Anyone have any ideas...they would be greatly appreciated.
    Melinda Posts: 102, Reputation: 20

Sep 7, 2006, 12:13 PM
    Is he neutured? IF not, that would be the first thing to do, you have to start the training process from scratch I'm afraid, but first every spot he's gone in the house has to be scrubbed with a cleaner special for pet odors or he'll just go back there again. While in the house and retraining, keep him on a long leash tied to you, that way he cannot sneak off to do his "deed", the second you see him about to go, yell "NO", grab him and put him outside, when he goes, praise him to high heaven... hope this helped a bit. There is no magic cure, just time.
    Blunty Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Sep 13, 2006, 06:15 AM
    Hi Melinda.

Thanks for responding. Your ideas sound great and worth a try. He is not neutured as of yet...but it is something I am going to look into. I really didn't want to fix him b/c I wanted to breed him once but he is starting to ruin my furniture and hardwood floors due to going inside. I really think he is just marking his territory therefore fixing him is probably my best option. Thanks again for your suggestions, I have never tried keeping him on a leash inside but it's going to be something I try real soon. :o