Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tadita83 Posts: 130, Reputation: 16

Feb 12, 2009, 08:16 PM
    Lost Voice and Can't Seem to Get it Back
    I lost my voice about 3 weeks ago and I have yet to fully get it back. I made a doctors appointment about a week ago because I had to sing on Sunday at my church and I was desperate, then it seemed like it was getting better so I cancelled the appt. well two days before I had to sing, I lost it again. After a rather embarrassing performance at church, my voice is still weak and scratchy and does not seem to be getting any better. I talk for a living. I'm a teacher, so by the end of the day my voice is gone. I've lost my voice before, but never like this and never this long.

Does anybody have any suggestions??
    Also is there any reason to go to the doctor?? I mean, I'm not going to waste my time at the dr's office just for him to tell me to drink tea with honey!
    retiredforgood Posts: 11, Reputation: 2

Feb 12, 2009, 08:25 PM

Try taking 2 grams or so of Vitamin C(Sodium Ascorbate) powder every day. A good source is ADVERTISING REMOVED. I have no financial interest in Wholesale Nutrition. The side effects of Vitamin C are chronic good health.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Feb 12, 2009, 08:34 PM
    Have you tried gargling with warm salt water? Resting your voice is the best medicine for laryngitis, damage to the vocal cords can be permanent. You may want to see your doctor to see if this is a bacterial infection, in which case antibiotics may be necessary.
    2313stephen Posts: 65, Reputation: 3

Feb 14, 2009, 07:20 AM