Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Blueberries Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Aug 1, 2006, 06:44 PM
    What should I do? How should I act?
    Hello, all. I am new here and I hope to get some insight from you all about my situation. It might be kind of long, so please bear with me!

I have a good online friend who I have been chatting online/emailing with for 5 years or so. Over the years, we've talked a lot about each other, including each other's relationships, as friends do. I've always admired him and liked him as a person, and so when he told me he was coming to my area for a business trip a couple of months ago, I jumped at the opportunity to meet him. It was purely a friendly meet-up, as he had a girlfriend, then, and I wasn't looking for a boyfriend. To both of our surprises, we totally enjoyed each other's company and we ended up liking each other by the end of his trip.

He had been having problems with his girlfriend and was really contemplating on leaving her when we met. When we realized that we liked each other, we were both torn because he had a girlfriend, and he doesn't want me to be the reason for their break-up, because they had been having some serious problems for quite some time. I was really sad when he left but we kept in touch via phone/internet after he was gone. I dared not think of any possibilies between the two of us, and I didn't want to lose him as a friend, either. There was a point that I just couldn't handle talking to him online anymore that I cut off contact with him for a short while. After that, I came back and to my surprise, he has already broken up with his girlfriend.