Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rodrigula Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 2, 2009, 12:39 PM
    Renters rights to deposit
    Good afternoon everyone,

This is my first time doing this and since I would like to do the right thing , here is my question.

My roommate , who is the owner of the apt that that I was renting a room at , notify me a while ago that he was going to rent the whole pleace because he was going to buy a house. He said it was not for certain , but it did happened, he did the closing on the 17 of this month , so he offered me to move to the new house . I said yes but , I got a really good offer on the 31 of dec to move at another place for a month for free, so I told him I was not going to move in with him. I told him that I was willing to give him 200 dollars out of the deposit since it was a last minute thing and he refuse, he wants to prorate me.

We don't have a contract, he did not put the deposit in an ascrow account like New Jersey state requires,never gave me a note of security deposit, according to the Security Deposit Act. And I paid him in checks all the time , which I can use as receipts. And I know he is not going to inform that income to the IRS.

He told me I was suppose to give him a 30 day notice , but how could I have done that , he signed the contract for the house on the 17 of this month and we had to be out by the 31st of December. I am trying to be nice , but I would like some advice, should I do.

V/R
    Rod
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Jan 2, 2009, 12:52 PM

He gave you a choice to move with him that I would think is not the same as or have anything to do with your deposit where you are.