Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CHRISTINE SONTE Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 27, 2008, 04:21 PM
    Aust resident seeking divorce, can I be deported
    I have been an Australian resident for 44 years and married for 26 years. II am seeking a divorce and am worried that I can be deported as I am not an Australian citizen. Can anyone confirm if this is true, please.
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

Oct 27, 2008, 07:20 PM

If you have legal status in Australia (being a permanent resident, not illegal alien), divorce does not jeopardize your legal status.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Does getting a divorce affect my Permanent Resident Status? [ 4 Answers ]

I came as dependent to my wife in Canada. Now we are planning divorce. After I divorce here, does that change my status as a permanent resident? Do I have to apply again for myself to come back to Canada, if I will travel for a short vacation?

Resident status after divorce? [ 1 Answers ]

I was married for 5 years with US citizen, and have a permanent resident VISA status that was acquired from marriage. I'm now divorcing and want to know what are the implications to my VISA status. Do I have to file any forms to immigration department during the divorce? I live and work in US, and...

Can a permanent resident be deported [ 1 Answers ]

Hello, my name is Monica and live in S. Florida. My kids dad is serving 3 years for a drug/trafficking/possession charge. They put a immigration hold on him & he can't go on work release, or go work on outside grounds to work:confused. He is originally from Jamaica & is a permanent resident. (Of...

E3 holder returned unexpectedly to Aust confused about tax return. [ 2 Answers ]