Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rarequeen Posts: 25, Reputation: 2

Apr 17, 2008, 05:56 PM
    Cookie Monster come visit
    I am new to computers I only use my computer to do online classes lately my computer has been going slow. I was told I need to delete items off my computer to make it go faster can you help and help me know what and how I delete it.
    COOKIE MONSTER Posts: 589, Reputation: 56

Apr 17, 2008, 06:24 PM
    Did you do a defrag? And free space on your hard disk? If it says you don't have enough space to preform the task then you do have to delete afew things you could put them on disc first

How much space does it say you have left?

Also what virus protection do you have? If you have windows live one care this should do the jobs for you,most virus protection software does these jobs not all them do
    Rarequeen Posts: 25, Reputation: 2

Apr 17, 2008, 06:32 PM
    I have Norton Systemworks I have not defraged
    COOKIE MONSTER Posts: 589, Reputation: 56

Apr 17, 2008, 07:07 PM
    You should defrag it will help your PC run faster because the files will be back in their places and the PC will not have to look as hard for them, also run a free up space on you hard disk this will remove any unwanted files that are not being used like ones from the net and error reporting messages etc you don't need them so its OK to delete them

What does norton say it does is it just an anti virus,anti spyware,anti addware and anti malware? Or does it defrag and remove unwanted files?

Can you burn discs? If so try to put the stuff you don't really use like documents you written ages ago,music you don't really listen to anymore photos [always make doubles of photo discs just incase] I made the mistake not to and lost afew.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Apr 19, 2008, 05:04 AM
    Now it sounds like you need to do some maintenance.

Here's my usual C&P for cases like this: