Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    minihand Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2008, 08:14 AM
    Depth of pvc sewer pipe under concrete floor
    I have to reconnect an ground floor existing toilet to a new SVP pipe, which means that I have to cut a trench in the original concrete floor in a 1935 house. How deep will I need to put the pipe below the concrete? Will I need to re-enforce the concrete when I fill the trench back in? I am sorry I am a bit of a novice so any help would be greatly appreciated
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Mar 23, 2008, 08:26 AM
    Hey minihand:

Your pipe just needs to be covered by dirt... pipe cannot be in concrete is all.

You do not have to reinforce the concrete... just wet the edges well before patching the trench. Use wood float to spread/work the concrete to start, then use metal trowel at end to pull water out and seal the edges. Sometimes, I drop a little dry portland cement or even sand/cement mix at the edges and then trowel it in with the metal trowel... really feathers/finishes edges nicely!

Hope that helped. Mark

ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Mar 23, 2008, 08:37 AM
    You also asked how deep and that would be about 10", cover with dirt and then 4" of gravel before you pour.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Mar 23, 2008, 09:01 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by minihand
    I have to reconnect an ground floor existing toilet to a new SVP pipe, which means that I have to cut a trench in the original concrete floor in a 1935 house. How deep will I need to put the pipe below the concrete? Will I need to re-enforce the concrete when I fill the trench back in? I am sorry I am a bit of a novice so any help would be greatly appreciated