Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    booey Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2008, 03:42 AM
    Depression and being pushed away
    Hello,

Thanks for reading my message and I hope some of you can help me? I've never used a site like this before but feel I need some advice.

My partner suffers from depression and has just started seeing his doctor and taking anti-depressants. We only started seeing each other in October and everything was wonderful until Christmas time when he started pushing me away, saying things like, 'i could be happier with someone else'. When I finally accepted this and ended it, he then said that he had made the most stupid mistake of his life and wanted me back. He begged me for another chance, and I stupidly gave it. It is now nearing the end of February and he has done it again. I just don't know what to do. Up until last weekend everything was perfect, we had booked our first holiday together and were looking forward to it more than anything. Then, he woke up one morning in despair and hasn't been able to shake it off. On Valentines Day he told me that I was "doing his head in" because I kept asking him if he was OK. He said that he couldn't cope with the pressure of having to think about me and the fact that he knew I had needs. He said these tablets made him feel 'weird' and unemotional. He even said he knew that he was upsetting me but that he was numb.

All I have ever done is help and support him, I have never put any pressure on him at all. I have said that I will be there for him through all of this and do whatever it is he needs to get through it, we would get through it together. But he then turned round and said some hurtful things, like I was needy, and always was someone who clung on! That is not me at all. I am a very independent and intelligent woman! I was just trying to let him know that I wasn't going to abandon him when things got tough.