Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sunnyMI Posts: 62, Reputation: 7

Dec 30, 2007, 04:30 PM
    Cat eating its own tail, need suggestions.
    My friend has a cat that eats its own tail. It's become so bad that the "bone" part of the tail is exposed, so she has wrapped the remainder of its tail with medical bandages and changes them regularly to prevent this from occurring at this time but would like a more preventative approach. She has two other cats, and there are no issues with the cats fighting or anything, so her question is as to why her one cat does this, and how to prevent it. The cat is very gentle and loving... any suggestions?
    Goldenwolf Posts: 157, Reputation: 9

Dec 30, 2007, 04:39 PM
    Some dogs do bite their tails, but Ive never heard of cats bitting their tails though.
    First, this is my opinion, I'm no animal expert, I am a bit unexperienced, but I think I could help.

Since when does the cat 'eat' its tail? Was there any important event in the cats life before that? It could be that the cat isn't fed properly or something. Is this cat clean, maybe it could be a flea. But I think your friend should take the cat to a vet, to see if there is something wrong with the cat.
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Dec 30, 2007, 05:28 PM
    Do anyone play with the cat with a laser light, flash light or any orther type of battery operated toy. Some cats can not handle this type of play. Even toys that swings around the cats head and over its back end leading it in a tail chasing mode. If this is not the case, when the tail is healed try some bitter apple spray on the tail or some other non toxic spray. The pet store , walmart etc.. should have a few different types. Make sure it is safe for cats and their skin.
    dogpoundbrenda Posts: 78, Reputation: 12

Dec 30, 2007, 05:59 PM