Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    badboy560 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 11, 2007, 09:54 AM
    Car will not come out of park
    I have a 87 thunderbird that will not shift out of park even when the brake peddle is depressed.how do I get it to shift?
    margog85 Posts: 241, Reputation: 19

Nov 11, 2007, 09:19 PM
    I'm not a car expert- but I had a similar problem. Apparently there's some kind of latch or switch connected to the brake that allows you to shift- mine snapped and broke off, and I wasn't able to shift out of park. Fooled around with it for a LONG while and somehow it went into drive and I took it straight to the shop- fixed it pretty quickly. Not sure of the cost to fix though, I still had a warranty on my car when it happened, and got it fixed inexpensively.
    Hope that helps!
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Nov 11, 2007, 09:37 PM
    I had the same or similar problem this past month. It was the safety neutral switch wore out and wasn't connecting the shifter with the ignition. If you can't find a mechanic to come to your house to fix it you may have to get it towed to a garage on a flat bed.
    Due to knucklehead mechanic complications, I had to replace my whole steering column and it cost 150. For a column from the junk yard and 60. To the guy I had come and fix it.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Nov 11, 2007, 10:14 PM
    When I was about 16, I did a bad thing. I put the car in park when it was still moving. I chipped a tooth on the parking ratchet. I never knew when it would jam. Usually rocking the car got it free. One time, I had to get out the bumper jack to release the tension. Those were the days.

Modern cars have a little cap near the shifter. If you remove the cap, you can release the car out of park with a screwdriver.
    glennmarilyn Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Nov 12, 2007, 04:12 PM