Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    merhere23 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 13, 2007, 01:53 PM
    Caught at 16, no lawyer, NY law treated as adult. Can I expunge my record?
    I have heard about people expunging their record - I am wondering if you can do that even if you plead guilty.

I recently found out I have a misdemeanor criminal record. I was caught on video shoplifting when I was 16, and plead guilty, under the impression it would be on a juvenile record and wouldn't show up. However I have discovered NY is one of 3 states where offenses committed @ 16 or older go on your adult criminal record.

I am 20 now, and about to graduate in a year. Is there a way to appeal/expunge my record before I finish school? I'm studying to become a teacher.

I don't know if it counts for anything, but the cops never called my parents and they had me sign the "damages stolen" papers without them or my lawyer present. I also never had a lawyer in the coutroom.
    XenoSapien Posts: 627, Reputation: 42

Aug 13, 2007, 04:25 PM
    If NY says 16, then it must be 16. You can always make an attempt anyway, highlighting how you've been a good citizen since then. If you think your parents would know better about this, talk to them.

XenoSapien
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Aug 13, 2007, 04:49 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by merhere23
    I have heard about people expunging their record....
    I don't know if it counts for anything, but the cops never called my parents and they had me sign the "damages stolen" papers without them or my lawyer present. I also never had a lawyer in the coutroom.
    Hello merhere:

Depending on the law, you can certainly apply. No, all that stuff doesn't count for anything today. You'll need a lawyer.

excon

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!