Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Newyorker Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 23, 2007, 08:14 PM
    Pregnant bridesmaid
    My friend and bride-to-be just found out that my husband and I are trying to get pregnant. (Her wedding is this October and it is July.) She asked why we couldn't wait until her wedding is over and I explained that I am a teacher and am on a school schedule. Because I do not drink anymore, she said that she doesn't want me to be tired and leave her bachelorette party early(which will not happen). I explained that I do not drink right now because I am trying to get my body ready for conception. She replied by saying "thats weird". She also said that if I am not pregnant by the time her party comes around she is going to "make me drink". I feel very disrespected and am thinking about declining to stand in her wedding because she has upset me so much. Should I just get through the wedding events and stay quiet or should I discuss this with her?

Please help...
    poseidon Posts: 244, Reputation: 55

Jul 24, 2007, 05:50 AM
    Hi NewYorker,

Forgive me for saying so but some friend.

If she is truly your friend she would respect the fact that you no longer drink and wish you well with attempts to become pregnant.

If you become pregnant today it is unlikely that you will be feeling overtired so soon into it and you should be able to go to the party and have fun, irrespective of whether you drink or not. If you did feel tired and decided you needed to leave early again I feel a true friend would be happy to accept this.

Rather than being critical your 'friend' should respect you for your decision not to drink and congratulate you on your common sense.