Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kingcon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 22, 2007, 07:06 AM
    Remodeling with Slab Foundation
    I want to remodel my house with a slab foundation. To keep things simple I'm trying to re-use the existing plumbing & gas (in kitchen) connections. I also want to add a bathroom in what is currently the garage. It has laundry hook-ups for washer & dryer so I'm thinking I can use those, but I'm not too sure how to go about it. I'm an interior designer with a project manager in construction background but I've never worked on a home with a slab foundation before. I'm used to being able to see the pipes, drains, etc. Any advice would be appreciated as I am in the planning stages right now & want to keep my costs & upheaval to a minimum. Thanks.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jul 22, 2007, 07:48 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by kingcon
    I want to remodel my house with a slab foundation. To keep things simple I'm trying to re-use the existing plumbing & gas (in kitchen) connections. I also want to add a bathroom in what is currently the garage. It has laundry hook-ups for washer & dryer so I'm thinking I can use those, but I'm not too sure how to go about it. I'm an interior designer with a project manager in construction background but I've never worked on a home with a slab foundation before. I'm used to being able to see the pipes, drains, etc. Any advice would be appreciated as I am in the planning stages right now & want to keep my costs & upheaval to a minimum. Thanks.
    In my area all our houses are on slabs. First off, you're not going to be able to use a 2" laundry drain line to pick up a bathroom group drainage. You'll need to go to 3 or 4" for the main branch and 2" for the lavatory and tub/shower drains. Let me show you a typical, (in my area) bathroom group rough in. This configuation only uses one vent for the entire group.