Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CindyRay Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 06:30 PM
    Chapter 13 and selling or renting house
    I am in my final year of a Chapter 13 bankruptcy and have accepted a job 200 miles away in a different state. I cannot afford both an apartment there and my house payment. My son is already living there so I can stay with him and come home on weekends to get the house ready to sell. I haven't found out about any relocation options from my new company yet. I will find that out tomorrow. I have talked to the realtor who sold me the house and she is getting the specs on how much it can list it. I can also find a renter and rent it out for the payment till my bankruptcy is over. I'm leaning towards renting it because I have to go back to the court to sell the house and then put it on the market. Any ideas or advice?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 10, 2007, 07:04 PM
    Of course if you sell it while in your chapter 13, the money you get as a profit may be taken for the court If you rent it, you may still have to file a new payment information sheet, since you wll need to show this as income and then show the expense of the payments and costs of rental as money paid out.

Also of course the court should be notified of the new employment and if you earn more money at the new job, the court has to be notified of that also
    CindyRay Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 10:14 PM