Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lilfyre Posts: 508, Reputation: 98

Jan 25, 2006, 10:37 AM
    Someone Please define hooking up for me.
    As I am creeping up on 40, I have lost some of the lingo, that is going around, I drive a bus for a living, and hear kids talk all the time, I constantly hear them say

Ya, I was at a party and I hooked up with this one and then later I hook up with that one

Someone Please define hooking up for me.

There is no way I am asking my daughter, reverse parental question, ha then she would have one on me, that I think would be bad.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jan 25, 2006, 10:54 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Dictionary.com
    Phrasal Verb:
    hook up

1. To assemble or wire (a mechanism).
    2. To connect a mechanism and a source of power.
    3. Slang
    1. To meet or associate: We agreed to hook up after class. He hooked up with the wrong crowd.
    2. To become romantically or sexually involved with someone.
    3. To marry or get married.
    There you go ;)
    nwsflash Posts: 530, Reputation: 73

Jan 25, 2006, 11:59 AM
    Ya, I was at a party and I hooked up with this one and then later I hook up with that one
    I think in teen speak it means like 1st base, 2nd base kind of thing and meeting friends. Our they can also use it this way --- >> " I hooked up with my mates at the mall, and we chilled" if that makes sense too you.
    giggles Posts: 143, Reputation: 27

Jan 25, 2006, 12:10 PM
    My friends use it to describe getting together sexually with someone. Not being American I have NO IDEA what your "first base" and "second base" pertain to, but I imagine it's something similar!