Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rndygit Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Nov 24, 2005, 08:01 PM
    IE 6 and live update
    I'm unable to open my IE. I keep getting a message of runtime error
    Program:C:\Program files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    This application has requested the runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
    I am an extreme novice with computers but slowly learning ( sometimes the hard way lol). I deleted IE 6 ( maybe not ALL of it) and downloaded it again but with the same response. Is this a conflict issue maybe? I have since started to use Mozilla as my browswer but unfortunately Norton and various other sites require I have explorer running. Which brings me to problem #2 lol
    My Live update won't run. I've deleted it as directed by the Norton message but now when I try to download the program I get a message that there is not enough disc space available for the download. I have plenty of space available 8.04g on drive C and 40.8 g on drive D. Any suggestions folks? In plain laymans terms please lol
    Thanks
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

Nov 25, 2005, 03:01 AM
    I think you were on the right steps when you tried to uninstall and reinstall IE. But deleting it manually - big no no! You'll never get all the registry keys etc.

Try uninstalling IE this way:

• Click on Start >> Control Panel
    • Double click on Add/Remove Programs
    • Click the Add/Remove Windows Components button on the left side.
    • A new window will pop up. This will have a list of various windows components. One of these will be Internet Explorer. Uncheck the box next to Internet Explorer and press Next. Windows should remove IE. Press Finish when it's done.
    • Now download and reinstall IE and see if you have better luck.

P.s - stick with Firefox (or did you mean the old Mozilla suite?). It's a superior browser in the eyes of the majority of the experts here.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674