Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mommyof2monkeysandprinces Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Mar 1, 2008, 01:22 PM
    Foreclosure notice of house we are renting in FL
    This is my first time posting. My dh and I moved to FL last May signed a year's lease. Paid every payment on time. Paid to have carpets cleaned 6 months in and planned on paying every 6 months. Just signed a lease renewal for another year so we would have a lease until May 1st, 2009. Then just last week we were served a foreclosure notice on the rental house :confused: . What do we do? The process has just started so I know foreclosure typically takes 6 months. I have heard because we have a baby and school age kids we could get 90 days after the foreclosure. I can't find this in the laws at all well I can't find anything in the laws about foreclosure and rental. Can anyone tell us what we do? What do we do about rent money for the time being?

Tammy
    LILL Posts: 212, Reputation: 15

Mar 1, 2008, 01:48 PM
    Keep paying the rent... the landlord still owns the property and has plenty of time to stop the foreclosure... besides, not paying rent will only lead to an eviction. As far as the law on having school aged children and a baby... having previously read through Florida landlord/tenant laws... there is nothing that protects you in a foreclosure. Unfortunately, once the foreclosure takes place, your lease becomes void and you will need to vacate upon the banks request... but like I said, your landlord has time to pay and stop the foreclosure.

Mar 1, 2008, 01:56 PM