Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    afford Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 24, 2010, 02:08 PM
    How to remove Temptrol T21-C diverter retainer
    How do you remove the diverter retainer (T21-C) on the Temptrol Mixing Valve Model A Tub/Shower system. Then I need to know how to remove the TA-25A diverter spindle. Thank you
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Dec 24, 2010, 03:02 PM

Hi Afford...

You're talking about a valve I have been installing and repairing for over 30 years now, so read on...

Remove all of the chrome trim parts and then you will need a 5/16" allen wrench to remove the DIVERTER RETAINER and a 5/16" x 3" LAG BOLT to remove the DIVERTER SPINDLE itself. Although the bolt sounds wrong it is exactly what Symmons recommends.

You will need to screw the 5/16" lag bolt into the spindle and then give a strong YANK to remove the old spindle (hold valve body here). To install the new spindle you will need to grease (silicone grease) the new spindle at the O-RING to insert it into the valve body... push hard to seat it. Then re-install the retainer (be careful not to drop it... ) and test all.

That should get you up and running again. Let us know how you make out, OK?

MARK
    Attached Images

gavcar912 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 12, 2012, 01:41 PM
    Hi Mark;

I had a stuck diverter in my kids shower this morning. I followed your instructions after picking up the spindle at Home Depot. Your instructions were perfect and worked without a hitch! The shower is up and running again.

Thank you for your answer!! Gavin
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Aug 12, 2012, 01:54 PM
    Hi Gavin

Thank you for taking the time to let me know that the information helped... I appreciate it!

Mark

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.