Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Luscious One Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Dec 10, 2006, 12:37 PM
    Tub to Shower 1.5" pipe to 2"pipe
    Shower uses a 2" pipe. Tub used a 1.5 inch pipe. Bought a 2"pipe coupler... using the coupler to attach the new 2" pipe to the old 1.5 inch joint on the 3" main house drain pipe.

The coupler has too much play on the 1.5 inch side... almost like it's an 1/8th of a inch smaller than 1.5. What's up?

HELP.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Dec 10, 2006, 12:54 PM
    First of all we have no idea of the material the pipes are made of. Next, are you telling us you're attempting to connect a 2" coupling on to a 1 1/2" pipe without first bushing the coupling down to 1 1/2"? Please explain. Tom

Dec 10, 2006, 01:10 PM
    Replacing tub with shower pan. The drain is 2"

The pipe is standard black pvc sewage pipe being used to drain the new shower to the existing 3" house drain. I'm a novice. What is bushing?
    Eternal Plumber

Dec 10, 2006, 02:46 PM
    I'm not attempting to make you look stupid, I'm attempting to understand exactly what going on. Common sense tells us that a 2" coupling can not fit a 1 1/2" pipe so what do we have?
    First off the black pipe's ABS not PVC. The pipe coming up out of the old tub trap is 1 1/2", and the tailpiece out of the shower is 2". (is it black also?) Am I correct so far? And all you wish to do is connect the two. You have two options, purchase a 2 X 1 1/2" reducing coupling or a 2 X 1 1/2" bushing, (see image) and put it in the 2" coupling that you have. Use primer and all purpose glue on the joints. Good luck, Tom

Dec 10, 2006, 03:03 PM
    Oh I didn't think you were trying to make me look stupid. Not at all. Both pieces are black and the coupling I bought is loose over the 1.5... like a little wiggle room. The 2" inch fits snug with no wiggle. Will glue take care of that? Thanks.
    Eternal Plumber

Dec 10, 2006, 03:28 PM