Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jabez Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2008, 06:10 PM
    Toilet suction
    I have 2 toilets that when you flush them paper comes back up. It seems there is not enough suction. I have used drain cleaner and I do not have a septic tank.
    Thanks for you advice.
    Goodmorningworld17 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2008, 06:24 PM
    Likely low-flow toilets. And it's not suction, it's pressure. Possibly the house has low water-pressure (the equipment is not working properly) or it is not fully turned on. I'm not experienced completely on the topic but have run into the problem before. Check the dials on the machine in your basement.
    wmy2k Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2008, 06:34 PM
    First, are both the toilets on the same floor of the house? Just a guess, if both are going down slow, and or leaving paper in the bowl, it could be the jets under the bowl rim are blocked. And the siphon jet in the bottom of the bowl is blocked. If so, you will need to clean jets on bowl rim with end of coat hanger, the jet in the bottom of the bowl if there is one, I cleaned them with my pocket knife. Hope this helps.

Plumber 21 years, now selling real estate.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Feb 4, 2008, 06:37 PM
    Hey Jabez... start at the basics. How old are the toilets? Do your toilets have a siphon jet (a hole opposite the toilet drain hole in bowl)? If you lift the lid of toilet tank does the 1/4" flexible tube from your fill valve connect and/or flow into the overflow tube (at center) and feed water into toilet bowl? Also, do the holes under the toilet bowl rim flow freely?

You want to check these things first... then check to see if original parts in toilet... sometimes people replace parts with wrong parts.. and then both toilets have issues.