Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kokohsacon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2008, 08:19 AM
    Shower faucet in need of change
    Hi, I'm new to this question asking, so be gentle.
    I have an older home, built in the 50's. The plumbing in the bathroom is beginning to give me grieve. The faucet and diverter in the shower have started to leak. I purchased a new set to replace these BUT? The old ones have 13" to the centre and the new ones are 8" to the centre? Ok, how do I make this work.
    Please keep in mind, I have NO plumbing expertise. I do like to DIY, and have learned quite a bit in the last few years of home ownership.
    Any ideas? Or should I just get out the wallet and get myself a GREAT plumber?
    Thanks!
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Feb 2, 2008, 03:40 PM
    Symmons makes a "goof plate" that may be able to help you with a little creativity on your part. These chrome goof plates are sold at all home supply stores. I think they measure just 13 " wide... and about 6 inches tall but you will need to measure to be sure.

Thing is... you would need to change the shower valve to a single handle valve (Symmons also makes a great tub/shower valve).

Look at the goof plate and see what you think... hope that does it for you.

Tell me is this a tile shower wall or a fiberglass shower.. Because could always remove section of tile, change valve over to any valve... patch area with cement board and re-tile with similar color tiles or could add accent tiles around valve.

Check it out and let us know what you come up with. Good luck!
    kokohsacon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 3, 2008, 11:56 AM
    Thanks! I'll give this a try. The shower wall has a fiberglas covering. But it was inexpensive, so I could always reinstall a new one to cover any new holes.
    I guess I have some shopping to do. At least some more investigating.
    I'll keep you posted.
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899