Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    twojciac Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2005, 05:32 PM
    Yet another basement bathroom rough in
    I apologize in advance for the broken record, but I'm thinking of roughing in a bathroom in my basement myself. I intended on hiring a plumber until I got the first quote :eek:

I have a full bathroom roughed in, with a 12"x12" box with a 2" drain for the shower/tub on the far left. In the middle is a 4" stub for the toilet. On the right is a 2" drain for the sink. In the middle of the room in the ceiling is a 1 1/2" stub for the vent. The main stack is about 7' from where all three drains join together.

Attached is a picture of the connections before the slab was poured. Hopefully this shows the required detail, if not I can take more snapshots of what it looks like today.

Now for the questions (please go easy on me, I'm a complete novice).

Since the vent is in the middle of the room and not above the sink drain, can I put an elbow and extend it horizontally and drop it back down? Would it need to be a sloped elbow and not 90 degree?

Do I just need to vent the sink?

If I have to vent the tub/shower, I assume it would have to be between the p-trap and overflow. Also, would there be a required slope for the vent to be horizontally extended between sink and tub/shower?

I have PVC and CPVC stubs for the water supplies. The shower valve is all metal. Can I use CPVC into the valve, and up to the showerhead? Or should I plan on doing all of that with copper?

I know I need to put pressure gauges in place for the inspection. Would this be at each stub (tub faucet, showerhead, toilet cold, sink hot and cold)?

Thanks in advance!
    Attached Images

speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Oct 18, 2005, 04:54 AM
    [