Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    NeelyDan Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 10, 2005, 03:56 PM
    Basement Drain?
    Hello,

I have a new house, less than a year old. In the basement, the furnace and hot water tank are beside each other. In front and between them is a drain.

Over the last week or so, I have noticed a puddle of water around the drain. It travels to the base of the furnace. There is nothing around the water tank. There is water surrounding the base of the furnace, though mostly just moisture - the real water is around the drain.

I shone a flashlight in the drain and can see water. Is this normal? Is it backed up? Do I need to snake it?

I do have a disposal in the main floor kitchen, could this be the cause?

I am a DIY rookie, any help would be more than appreciated.

-Neely
    theBigkill Posts: 43, Reputation: 1

Oct 10, 2005, 04:16 PM
    The water in your drain is supposed to be there so no worries there. The water in your trap creates a barrier keeping out sewer gasses that would otherwise come up through the drain.

I don't really know what the water under the furnace could be about, I'm kind of curious to hear what speedball or one of the other experts has to say though... I might learn something! Condensation overflowing the pan maybe?

As for the water around your hotwater tank, is not so good you
    If water were to sit under your hot water tank for a period it could rust and corrode the feet on the tank until they gave way, which could be pretty costly especially if your tank is high efficiency natural gas.
    I kept mine off the basement floor by pouring a 6" concrete pad just in case, but as long as you keep an eye on the water you shouldn't have to go to that extreme.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Oct 11, 2005, 06:02 AM
    Big Kill was correct. The water that you see in the bottom of your floor drain is the trap seal.