Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nikkiboo Posts: 31, Reputation: 0

Apr 15, 2009, 03:30 PM
    Should I be a photographer?
    OK I'm a freshman this year and I'm not sure what I want to do,I was thinking about looking into photographer but my parents say that it will not be a good idea because of the economy but I love taking pics of people and every thing elce I just don't want to pay for college to be a photographer if I'm not going to enjoy it or if it don't pay well so if there is any one that can give me advise on weather I should be a photographer please... please tell me!
    Thinks for your time
    mudweiser Posts: 2,750, Reputation: 707
    Ultra Member

Apr 15, 2009, 09:09 PM

No one here should tell you what to do with your future. It's your decision.

Remember most photographers are freelance and it is a competitive world out there. You also definitely need the talent!

Anyone can pick up a camera now a days and call themselves a photographer [I hate that]. I believe taking courses in order to better know the art of photography is always best.

First you need to decide what type of photography your going to be into; such as news, advertising or fine-art photography.

Practice, practice, practice!

Develop a portfolio

Get a job to work as a photographer's assistant.

Attend workshops and seminars to remain up-to-date on technical advances in photography.

And the most obvious of all, get a camera.

Sarah
    Dxslayer Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

May 5, 2009, 11:24 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mudweiser View Post
    No one here should tell you what to do with your future. It's your decision.

Remember most photographers are freelance and it is a competitive world out there. You also definitely need the talent!

Anyone can pick up a camera now a days and call themselves a photographer [I hate that]. I believe taking courses in order to better know the art of photography is always best.