Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hb35706 Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Jun 18, 2010, 09:30 PM
    I love my daughters mom but she won't work it out now she has my kid around a new man
    I have been broken up from my daughters mom for almost 4 years now and I'm still very much in love with her but she refuses to work it out with me and be the family that I want to be, recently she decided to start dating again and it's killing me.. I don't want this new man around my child and to make matters worse she will not allow me to know who this person is.. As a father do I have a right to know who my child is around?
    Kitkat22 Posts: 6,302, Reputation: 1191
    Uber Member

Jun 18, 2010, 09:36 PM

I'm not a lawyer so I'll speak as a parent. If your wife is dating a new man it's good to know what kind of person he is.

Just make it clear you want to meet the man and it's because you want to know if he is a good person. Maybe one of the Lawyers here could tell you your legal recourse.
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Jun 18, 2010, 09:42 PM
    I think its not unreasonable to know who your child is around within reason...

But you complicate this.

You are still in love with her... or at least you still haven't moved on. You are upset that she has moved on. There's a lot of frustration and anger in your post.

Look... I'm divorced. My son lives with his mother. She loves another man. It can be maddening.

You need to let go of her. There's a lot of peace in accepting that you might love her but you cannot be together. It is that simple, and that hard.

She can choose to be with whomever she wants to be and you don't have to like it. Having a child together binds you in a way... but it doesn't let you have any say about who she is with... outside of real, present danger for the child... your ex's bedroom is none of your biz.