Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help!
  Advanced
Register  |  Log in  
   Ask    
 Answer  
  Help  

Ask QuestionsprogressAnswer QuestionsprogressBuild ReputationprogressBecome an Expert
 
Free Answers in 3 Easy Steps

Register Now
3 Steps

At Ask Me Help Desk you can ask questions in any topic and have them answered for free by our experts. To ask questions or participate in answering them you must register for a free account. By registering you will be able to:
  • Get free answers from experts in any of our 300+ topics.
  • Accept money for answers that you provide.
  • Communicate privately with other members (PM).
  • See fewer ads.

Home > Money & Services > Other Money & Services   »   Is this fraud or a joke?

 
Question Tools Search this Question Display Modes
Question
 
 
#1  
Old Nov 21, 2006, 09:34 AM
xHypoCondriacx's Avatar
xHypoCondriacx
Junior Member
xHypoCondriacx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Posts: 107
xHypoCondriacx See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Is this fraud or a joke?

ok well i recieved an email stating i was a winner of an online program which since the last month has generated my email address in diffrent companys and me and 8 other winners happen to keep popping up.. i replied to this email and now for the last final step of confirmation i got this page. i took a screen shot so give me feed back if u think i should fill it out.. it also ask for my bank name , number , [=

note** this wasnt a spam email.. it was supposly legit as my provider company didnt put it as spam

http://i7.tinypic.com/3yrvfxz.jpg

Reply With Quote
 
     

Answers
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 10:02 AM   #2  
mr.yet
Bankruptcy & Debt Expert
mr.yet is offline
 
mr.yet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: republic of maryland
Posts: 1,616
mr.yet See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.mr.yet See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Never, Never Give Personal Information By Email, This Is Most Likely A Scam. Do Not Go Any Further, Since They Are Asking For Personal Information.

Comments on this post
xHypoCondriacx agrees: thxxxxxxx
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 10:03 AM   #3  
RickJ
Administrator
RickJ is offline
 
RickJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cave 4, Qumran
Posts: 6,889
RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.RickJ See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Fraud no doubt. I can't read all the fields in the image but no doubt if it's not there, they will eventually ask you for your bank account number to deposit your winnings.

...then instead they take your money.

I'd immediately stop responding to them and put them on your blacklist.

Comments on this post
xHypoCondriacx agrees: thxxxxxxx
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 10:12 AM   #4  
ScottGem
Computer Expert
ScottGem is offline
 
ScottGem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: LI, NY - USA
Posts: 21,899
ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Pay to call ScottGem for advice ($.75/min)
Call ScottGem via Skype™
Spam filters are not absolute and phishers can get around them. As Mr Yet said, NEVER give out personal info, unless you are absolutely sure you know who you are giving it to.

This is clearly fraud. though I'm not at all surprised that you would even think this might be legit.

Comments on this post
xHypoCondriacx agrees: thanks
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 05:31 PM   #5  
Fr_Chuck
Christianity Expert
Fr_Chuck is offline
 
Fr_Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 23,720
Fr_Chuck has disabled reputation
I will throw my two cents in,

you will get emails that look like they are from your bank,

( there are about 10 different banks that people are getting emails saying something about thier accounts)

if you do ebay you will get dozens of emails a week from fake ebay

And I get several emails from paypal every day ( not really from them but it looks like it)

from the header on the email it will look like it is really comming from the real company, but when you click on the links, it takes you to thier fake web sites.

They do this to get your bank info so they can take all your money out of it, and they do it from over seas so you can never get it back.

if you have given out any personal info, change those accounts in the morning, don't wait to after the holidy, if you gave them info put a fraud notice or warning on your credit reports.

This is not real, it will get past the filters, since thier headers look like it comes from legit sites, but it does not.

Look at the real site for your provider, if they had a contest going, it woujld be making major news, and guess what there are none going on.

Comments on this post
xHypoCondriacx agrees: thxxxxxxx
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 05:53 PM   #6  
Thomas1970
Senior Member
Thomas1970 is offline
 
Thomas1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Stumbling toward Shambala (currently Connecticut)
Posts: 858
Thomas1970 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.Thomas1970 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
I agree, do not give out any personal information, under any circumstances.
I had briefly heard of this scam a while back. It's been around. It had originated by phone, targeting seniors. At least one operator has already been sued. Anyhow, here is one of many links regarding one of the multiple variations:

http://www.grupo-utopia.com/blog/iso...alian_lott.php

Comments on this post
xHypoCondriacx agrees: Thanks Thomas, You always answer my questions! A+
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Nov 21, 2006, 08:21 PM   #7  
xHypoCondriacx
Junior Member
xHypoCondriacx is offline
 
xHypoCondriacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Posts: 107
xHypoCondriacx See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
yea i thought so.. i didnt give out any info.. considering its not hard with a little html knowledge to create such a layout which almost looks legit.. plus i never registerd for any online lotto lol.. thx [=
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 22, 2008, 10:53 PM   #8  
xHypoCondriacx
Junior Member
xHypoCondriacx is offline
 
xHypoCondriacx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Posts: 107
xHypoCondriacx See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Online users, Who purchase things online, Or pay bills online, Should ALWAYS be aware of these types of email's.

They dont always fall into a spam or philsh filter, So make sure to always double check all emails, Befor Moving on to any links or etc.

Thanks ALL

Topic closed:
  Reply With Quote
 
     


Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

 
Similar Sponsors

Similar Questions
Question Asker Topic Answers Last Post
Off the subject........joke.... Wildcat21 Relationships 7 Jul 25, 2006 01:56 PM
Really a joke - but is about Raltionships - check it out. Chery Relationships 4 Jun 28, 2006 07:07 AM
Clinton a joke? ScottGem Politics 13 Apr 27, 2006 06:15 AM
Another new Joke for Football Fans - from Chery Chery Humor & Comedy 2 Dec 1, 2005 03:26 PM




Copyright ©2003 - 2007, Ask Me Help Desk.
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6 © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.