Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help!
  Advanced
Register  |  Log in  
   Ask    
 Answer  
  Help  

Ask QuestionsprogressAnswer QuestionsprogressBuild ReputationprogressBecome an Expert
 
Free Answers in 3 Easy Steps

Register Now
3 Steps

At Ask Me Help Desk you can ask questions in any topic and have them answered for free by our experts. To ask questions or participate in answering them you must register for a free account. By registering you will be able to:
  • Get free answers from experts in any of our 300+ topics.
  • Accept money for answers that you provide.
  • Communicate privately with other members (PM).
  • See fewer ads.

Home > Money & Services > Other Money & Services   »   is this legal?

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Question
 
 
#1  
Old Feb 10, 2006, 10:07 AM
calimija_619
New Member
calimija_619 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
calimija_619 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
is this legal?

I've recently come in contact with a person who lives in another country. They claim that i can claim, having never met this person, next of kin, to a deceased person and get a bunch of money transferred into my bank account. And that this needs to be completed by a certain time, or the government will just take the money since there is no next of kin. Is this process legal? And what are the laws against this if not?

Reply With Quote
 
     

Answers
 
 
Old Feb 10, 2006, 10:45 AM   #2  
Junior Member
kp42484 is offline
 
kp42484's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southwestern OH
Posts: 40
kp42484 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Send a message via MSN to kp42484 Send a message via Yahoo to kp42484
Did you get this offer via email? If so, this may be a form of the infamous "Nigerian Letter/Scam". Like the name implies, this is a scam and under no circumstances should you give this person your bank account number. I know many people who get this kind of offer in their email almost every day and they are all scams. As soon as you give the "poor family" that you are "helping" your account #, they will wipe out your account. Please don't believe this person; they are lying to try and scam you.

Hope this helps!

Comments on this post
NeedKarma agrees: This is the correct answer. This scam has been going on for a looooong time.
CaptainForest agrees: The Internet is wonderful for the most parts. One unfortunate by-product though is scammers. And that is what we have here?Ǫa scam.
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 10, 2006, 06:32 PM   #3  
Christianity Expert
Fr_Chuck is offline
 
Fr_Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 27,671
Fr_Chuck has disabled reputation
This is a scam, a trick, they are crooks,

They want to find someone who is dishonest in the US and take thier money. And because you are trying to get someone elses money, you can't report it to the police when your money is stolen. great scam

After you agree to it, they either have you send them some legal fee. or you give them your bank account number and instead of gettng money all the money you have in teh account is gone. And it goes over sea and you can't get it back, nothing you can do.

it works with this, often they want you to do some good deed with the money, or they want you to change this money over to US money for a fee.

The newest they actually send you a bank check, you deposit it, and send them back so much money in cashiers check. But about two weeks latter you find that the check you got was a fake, and you are out your check.

This all works off our people greed
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 13, 2006, 06:29 PM   #4  
New Member
calimija_619 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
calimija_619 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
FROM ROSSY KOFI
LOME TOGO WEST AFRICA
NOTE:PLEASE KINDLY REPLY ME WITH THIS MY DIRECT EMAIL
(rossygirl_k@hotmail.com)

DEAR FRIEND,

I GOT YOUR CONTACT THROUGH TOGOLISE CHAMBER OF
COMMERCE.

I AM ROSSY KOFI,THE ONLY DAUGHTER OF LATE MR AND MRS
MIKE KOFI, PLEASE AND PLEASE DO NOT BE EMBARASED,I AM
SEEKING YOUR ATTENTION TO HELP ME TRANSFER THE SUM OF
($7.5,000,000,00 US DOLLARS)SEVEN MILLION FIVE HUNDRED
THOUSAND UNITED STATE AMERICAN DOLLARS. IN YOUR
ACCOUNT PLEASE IT IS MORE THAN URGENT.

MOREOVER, DEAR, I AM WILLING TO OFFER YOU 15% OF THE
TOTAL SUM AS COMPENSATION FOR YOUR EFFORT/INPUT AFTER
THE SUCCESSFUL TRANSFER OF THIS FUND INTO YOUR
NOMINATED ACCOUNT OVERSEAS.
THANKS,

ROSSY KOFI.


susan- so this is all illegal activety?
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 13, 2006, 06:38 PM   #5  
Expert
LisaB4657 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,577
LisaB4657 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.LisaB4657 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.LisaB4657 See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
This is a variation of the famous Nigerian scam. The minute they get your account number it gets cleaned out. Please don't fall for it.
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 13, 2006, 06:52 PM   #6  
Christianity Expert
Fr_Chuck is offline
 
Fr_Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 27,671
Fr_Chuck has disabled reputation
Yes, I get at least 4 or 5 of different variations of that letter and others every day. They are frauds trying to steal your money. they work off of the desire of people to get something for nothing.

First why do they need you, and why would they call you not merely a bank direct.

Next many US banks are international, so there would be US banks they can access almost anywhere.
Next why do they need to transfer it, if it is in a bank, they could merley wire the money to any other bank in the US without your help to start with.
They could email a bank and set up an account online in some cases
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 14, 2006, 11:02 AM   #7  
Finance & Accounting Expert
CaptainForest is offline
 
CaptainForest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,672
CaptainForest See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.CaptainForest See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.CaptainForest See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.CaptainForest See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fr_Chuck
Yes, I get at least 4 or 5 of different variations of that letter and others every day. They are frauds trying to steal your money. they work off of the desire of people to get something for nothing.

Wow, you sure get a lot of spam.



SCAM, SCAM, SCAM.

This is a SCAM.
  Reply With Quote
 
     
 
 
Old Feb 14, 2006, 05:44 PM   #8  
Christianity Expert
Fr_Chuck is offline
 
Fr_Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 27,671
Fr_Chuck has disabled reputation
Yes Capt

Of course I own two main web sites, and I am in my real identity when I am not this online superhero answering questions, the current Presiding Bishop of our Church. So my church web site is published internationally.
We have priests and Bishops all around the world. We have a major web site in Africa ( where alot of these scams come from) and I have a major US site.

We also have a yahoo group and our members belong to a dozen more yahoo groups.

So we also get alot of those Church scams also. They want to donate so much money to the church and so on.
  Reply With Quote
 
     


Thread Tools
Display Modes

 
Similar Sponsors

Similar Threads
Question Asker Forum Answers Last Post
Legal sex age Lindsey_2003 Teens 5 Mar 14, 2008 06:13 PM
Is this legal? iNTaYkE Internet & the Web 13 Jul 19, 2006 06:01 AM
Legal age? t1nkabe11 Other Law 3 Jun 9, 2006 10:59 AM
Is this legal ??????????? bekchave Other Business & Careers 10 Jan 10, 2006 06:17 AM
Is It Legal gailgor Other Law 5 Jan 2, 2006 07:19 PM




Copyright ©2003 - 2007, Ask Me Help Desk.
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:36 PM.