Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jymini Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 6, 2008, 08:31 AM
    HIPPA Violation by Supervisor
    I am a home care nurse and recently returned to work after recovering from an injury. My first assignment required me to lift and carry a patient outside the home for which I would not be covered as it is against policy. I refused and my supervisor told the patient's mother that I would not do it because I was recovering from an inhury. I feel that my HIPPA rights were violated and that this disclosure put me in a situation of being unable to darry our my duties. I am fully recovered and capable of doing the work that is required within the parameters of our resposibility.
    Do I have a civil case for violation of my privacy?

>Moved from Forum Help<
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Dec 6, 2008, 08:49 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by jymini View Post
    I am a home care nurse and recently returned to work after recovering from an injury. My first assignment required me to lift and carry a patient outside the home for which i would not be covered as it is against policy. I refused and my supervisor told the patient's mother that I would not do it because i was recovering from an inhury. I feel that my HIPPA rights were violated and that this disclosure put me in a situation of being unable to darry our my duties. I am fully recovered and capable of doing the work that is required within the parameters of our resposibility.
    Do I have a civil case for violation of my privacy?

>Moved from Forum Help<

I am not aware that HIPAA - not HIPPA, a common error - has any provisions for civil recovery. The agency which unlawfully releases the information is subject to penalties and fines. If I am incorrect hopefully someone will come along and set me straight.