Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    phillysteakandcheese Posts: 973, Reputation: 356

Jan 17, 2007, 01:29 PM
    Pen & Paper Role-Playing Games
    Do you now, or have you ever, played pen and paper based role-playing games - like Dungeons & Dragons?

As a kid, and even through university, I played all kind of games in different genres. It was always a social experience, a theatrical performance, and really just plain fun, but an activity I never really pursued after I graduated from university.

I recently started looking into these games again (after almost 18 years), and it strikes me how much this activity really is "exercise for the brain"... I learned how to focus through reading and understanding the game rules, I became much more organized, I came to understand team dynamics , I even learned speaking and performance skills - all of which fed my confidence. But mostly, I am really amazed at how how much these games fed my imagination and bolstered my creativity.

And yet ... Despite all these benefits, I still have a twinge of embarrassment when I start talking about them. You would think by now I wouldn't be worried about being called a "D&D geek" anymore... :)
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Jan 17, 2007, 01:32 PM
    Haha when I was in the Marines I'd play from Friday afternoon to Sunday evening - with beer and chips as my only nourishment :p

Don't worry what they say about you. You know you are a geek at heart; and that's a good thing :p
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jan 17, 2007, 01:33 PM
    *Holds hand in the air*

You can count me in too.
    I started with D&D, and gradually moved into other genres, like Call of Cuthulu, Hero System, Traveller, Toon! MERP and quite a few others.

I agree they are certainly enhancing of cognative abilities (but not spelling).

WHere you only a D&D geek or did you try any others?
    phillysteakandcheese Posts: 973, Reputation: 356

Jan 17, 2007, 02:02 PM