Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Osenna66 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2009, 04:03 PM
    Dug myself into a deep hole and don't know what to do!
    I've been an undergraduate student at McGill University for the past year and a half. I am in the Anatomy and Cell Biology Prgm in the Faculty of Science. My first term, I failed one course and did poorly on all the others. My GPA was about 1.90, which meant I was on Academic Probation. My second term I was part-time yet did not manage to get my GPA up, therefore I was up for review. During the summer, I re-took the course I had failed and got a B. My GPA was now a little above a 2.0 which meant I could continue at McGill the upcoming year (aka Fall term 2008).

So, this past term I was once again full time. I thought I had learnt my lesson (nearly getting expelled and all)... but, I am a fool and managed somehow to do worse than ever before. My GPA is now somewhere around a 1.3!

I don't know where to go from here! Ideally I would be put on probation again and get As in all my courses for the upcoming semester (Winter Term 2009), hopefully getting my GPA back up to a satisfactory level... However, I don't know how McGill will proceed (I've tried to make an appointment with my advisor, but no aswer from her yet). Will they kick me out? Or (don't know if universities even do this... I've heard rumors) will they make me take an obligatory year off before returning??

Please help! I really don't know what to do!

Osenna
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jan 5, 2009, 04:18 PM

Pick up your socks, Osenna. You are going to one of the best Universities in Canada. You should feel privileged. Do your utmost, girl, and get through it.

And yes, they do kick students out who don't come up to snuff, then you will have a hard time registering into another one to get what you want!