Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Dawn17 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Apr 30, 2009, 11:46 AM
    Underage marriage
    I'm not sure what to say about this, but what do you others thoughts about marriage at a young age like around 18?
    stevetcg Posts: 3,693, Reputation: 353
    Ultra Member

Apr 30, 2009, 12:05 PM

I think statistics show about a 75% chance of it ending in divorce and as a mathematician, I tend to agree with numbers.

There is very little reason these days to get married young. It provides little benefit that cannot be obtained in other manners. Divorce is messy and expensive.
    mudweiser Posts: 2,750, Reputation: 707
    Ultra Member

Apr 30, 2009, 12:15 PM

I got married at gulp.. 17.

I'm getting divorced now at 23 I've been with him for 4+ years with some separation in between.

There's a lot that I missed out between these ages. I really wish I had waited, and listened to my PopPop when he warned me about it.

The thing about young marriage is although it is an adult decision and your now considered an adult, there is a lot of baggage that comes with it that not many young couples understand.

Your now at the age of entering adulthood and marriage will lead to responsibilities. Sometimes leads to having babies and it can change your goals.
    I wanted to be an English teacher... and now I'm an accountant. Only because he had a problem with me being a teacher [stupid I know].

You are just leaving childhood and entering adulthood. By getting married your ripping that ticket up and taking an expressway to life... and the outcome leaves you with a temporart bliss but a forever regret and even resent towards your partner.

Wait! If you love each other now you CAN wait.

My opinion is just that..
    Sarah
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 30, 2009, 12:32 PM

I think that people "in love" and want to get married will not listen to anyone anyway and will do what they want no matter what others think.