Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gsouthatHU Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2009, 01:45 AM
    Consequences of hiding marriage from parents
    Im 20 and in college. My now wife is 19 also in college. We got married in November and everything is great. We both decided to keep this from our parents because we figured they wouldn't understand. I didn't start worrieing until I began to ponder the implications it would have on there taxes. If I have been claimed as a dependent up 2 this point, will they be audited if they claim me for '08. I'm a full time student being supported by the folks so I don't understand why that should change? Do I absolutely have to file taxes as a independent and married. Or can they claim me as a dependent as long as I don't claim my wife?
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

Jan 15, 2009, 06:22 PM

If you were not ready for all that marriage entails, why did you marry the lady?

Sorry, but it's time to pony up to the altar and do what you promised to do!
    hollylovesbrandon Posts: 633, Reputation: 78

Jan 15, 2009, 07:15 PM

Once you are married you are an emancipated adult. They cannot claim you... no matter what. You must file and they cannot file with you. Therefore, you might want to tell them so neither of you get audited or taken to jail... however, I am not a legal professional so my answer could have some holes in it. That's just what I was told. Hope it helped.
    450donn Posts: 1,821, Reputation: 239
    Ultra Member

Jan 16, 2009, 03:11 PM

Come on tell us the truth. You snuk off and got married and did not tell your parents because you did not want to loose their financial support, right?
    Starbucks21 Posts: 282, Reputation: 23

Jan 16, 2009, 09:48 PM

Well let me guess the exact situation...

Ran off and eloped with fiancée to be romantic and had a nice little romeo and juliet.