Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ahmed1963 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2007, 10:16 PM
    Wireless connection
    Hi guyes this is my first time I need some help
    I have a desktop connect to a sdl wireless router working fine and laptop connected by wierless also working fine.
    My q is? Is there a way I can acsess the desktop pcs file from my laptop or if I want to print something from my laptop to the printer connect to the desktop PC?

Waiting you answers
    Best regards
    Ali
    cajalat Posts: 469, Reputation: 66

Jan 30, 2007, 10:28 PM
    If both of the systems are connected to the same wireless router then you should be able to access resources (files) between the same way you would if they were wired. You still need to make sure that these two machines have the proper permission to access each other's resources.

Jan 31, 2007, 12:15 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by cajalat
    If both of the systems are connected to the same wireless router then you should be able to access resources (files) between the same way you would if they were wired. You still need to make sure that these two machines have the proper permission to access each other's resources.
    Hi thanks for your reply

But I have one wired and one wirless if posible to share files sa workgroup, I try that but no cucsess?
    Thanks
    cajalat Posts: 469, Reputation: 66

Jan 31, 2007, 04:03 AM
    Ah OK... I misread your original post and thought both were wireless.
    I have a hunch as to what's going on and it maybe related to how your wireless router is behaving and assigning IP's to wired vs. wireless and whether it allows communication between wired and wireless.

What type of wireless router do you have? (make/model). Also have you tried to use the IP address directly of each device to see if you can connect to them from one another?

Jan 31, 2007, 04:34 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by cajalat