Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help!
Answer   ||    Advanced Search

Ask your question or search...
International Sites: Nederlandse experts vragen
User Name 
Password 
Join   Forgot password? 

Home > Computers & Technology > Internet & the Web   »   Domain companies

Question
 
 
#1  
Old Mar 19, 2009, 12:28 PM
trademarks
New Member
trademarks is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
trademarks See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Domain companies

Has anyone heard of a company from Japan called WiFi Network? Not sure if they are trying to scam me. They are telling me I need to buy some domains which are simular to the trademark I have.

Reply With Quote
 
     

Answers
 
 
Old Mar 19, 2009, 12:42 PM   #2  
Computer Expert and Renaissance Man
ScottGem is online now
 
ScottGem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: LI, NY - USA
Posts: 33,713
ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.ScottGem See this member's comment history on his/her Profile page.
Pay to call ScottGem for advice ($.75/min)
Call ScottGem via Skype™
They are not really trying to scam you. But you don't "need" to buy those domains.

Since the expansion of the top level domains (TLDs) on the WEB a few years back Some companies try to protect their trademarks by registering for their name in all TLDs. For example, Ford has Ford.com, but they also have Ford.net, Ford.biz, etc. So if someone goes to those other URLs they will be redirected to the main Ford.com. Not all companies do this or can do this. For example Nissan.com was a domain registered by a NC computer company before Nissan changed from Datsun to Nissan. Nissan Motors sued them and Nissan Computers has been fighting for almost 10 years (Nissan Motor vs. Nissan Computer - Digest.com).
So far successfully.

There are other instances where you may misspell the URL and find yourself on a totally different site. (try goggle.com). So companies do try to protect themselves by buying up similar domains. Since its relative cheap to own a domain, its sorta worth it.
  Reply With Quote
 
     

Your Answer
Email me when someone replies to my answer
Join Login



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Ask your question or search...



Similar Threads
Domain Name taken
(2 replies)
Domain Name
(2 replies)
Credit Repair companies or Credit Counseling companies
(1 replies)
Domain Name
(3 replies)

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread

Advanced Search

Bookmarks





Copyright ©2003 - 2009, Ask Me Help Desk.
All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:07 PM.