Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Philnet1 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 5, 2010, 11:29 PM
    Real Ivory and Ebony Piano keys
    For sale. This is from a piano dating back to 1909, the keys are in great shape. The piano has been distroyed as it was an old upright player piano and it was falling apart. So I salvaged the keys... They are the real ivory and the real ebony. I am in TN. I am not sure if the sale of these ivory and ebony keys are legal and am not sure how to find if they are.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Nov 5, 2010, 11:57 PM

You are correct, it is illegal to sell ivory, although ebony is a wood and not.

Tick
    Philnet1 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 6, 2010, 11:36 AM
    I understood selling Ivory from piano keys are okay up to a certain year. What year is that. These Ivory keys are from an old 1909 upright player piano.
    Expert

Nov 6, 2010, 12:00 PM

I have no knowledge of selling any kind of ivory, old or not. Why didn't you mention this in your original post ? Yes I understand where the ivory is from but what difference does it make ? Ivory is ivory as I said and no one wants to buy it because of elephant poaching. Would you care to know how they remove the tusks and leave the animal bleeding to death.

Tick
    newoldarts Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 1, 2010, 04:23 PM
    People do want to buy old ivory, it is not illegal to sell antique ivory in most countries. A lot of people use it for making scrimshaw and restoring old pianos. I see no point in losing beautiful old pianos or losing skills to such a beautiful art, after all that animal lost it's life over a hundred years ago and the hunters are also dead. If you use antique ivory you are not supporting an evil industry you are most likely keeping a dying art alive.
    Expert

Dec 1, 2010, 04:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by newoldarts View Post