Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sparky3000 Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Jul 23, 2008, 06:41 PM
    Combination Summer winter hookup
    I know I am an electrician asking a plumbing question... :confused: let the jokes fly... :p
    But after doing several new homes in the Lehigh Valley area, I have noticed that anyone getting an oil fired hydronic heating system often gets a electric water heater and they are hooked together. My question is does this really save that much money in oil bills? If so, I think I understand the basic concepts involved with installation. Please feel free to correct me. However what is the best way of suppling the water heater (Ie: with a mixing valve, directly from the boiler, also should I install a return loop to the boiler with a ciculator pump.? )
    Yes I am slightly confused.

D.
    FRANKLOP Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 7, 2010, 09:25 PM
    Hello, I have a oil fired summer/winter hookup.I attached 2 rads and 1 cooper /finned baseboard in the basement on the same level as the boiler , problem , with the thermastat off to the boiler, when the boiler is fired up to heat the domestic water the new (2) radiators and the finned toob baseboard all heat up. Any thoughts

Quote Originally Posted by Sparky3000 View Post
    I know I am an electrician asking a plumbing question...:confused: let the jokes fly....:p
    But after doing several new homes in the Lehigh Valley area, I have noticed that anyone getting an oil fired hydronic heating system often gets a electric water heater and they are hooked together. My question is does this really save that much money in oil bills? If so, I think I understand the basic concepts involved with installation. Please feel free to correct me. However what is the best way of suppling the water heater (Ie: with a mixing valve, directly from the boiler, also should I install a return loop to the boiler with a ciculator pump.????)
    Yes I am slightly confused.

D.