Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Vivian64 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 20, 2012, 06:31 AM
    Hippa violations between co workers
    I work in a hospital and over the last 1 yr or so, I have been missing a lot of work due to being diagnosed with heart failure. Now I have mention to people of my condition and have left it at that.
    I have recently found out through several coworkers that when I am not there, they are stating "she needs to be fired", "she needs to go on disability", "she misses alot of work" with other coworkers. Now in all of this I am also on "interment FMLA". After hearing all the talks when I am not around, I chose to tell people that instead of discussing what needs to be done to me or what they they I need to do, they have no business discussing my health issues.

Is this a violation of HIPPA on my coworkers or the facilities part?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 20, 2012, 08:32 AM
    No. Since you shared with those co-workers the nature of your issues, there is no HIPAA violation. A violation would only have occurred if you were being treated at your hospital and a co-worker went into your records.

However, this is something that your supervisor or HR should handle. If your co-workers feel you are not pulling your share of the load, then have the right to complain to management. Management/HR has the obligation to deal with the issue.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Hippa violations [ 1 Answers ]

Is it against hippa for a manager to discuss work related business about an employee to their co workers?

Hippa violations [ 4 Answers ]