Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    WriterGirl_15 Posts: 79, Reputation: -3

Jan 16, 2013, 08:00 AM
    I have no gardening experience, little space and money; where to start?
    I'm a teenager and a complete gardening newbie. I've had one or two potted plants, ever. I want to start a small garden. I don't have much space to work with, and I have no idea whether I should grow herbs, vegetables, flowers... can anyone give me some advice on a good starting point?

I only have a little money from my birthday and I don't want to end up quitting because I made poor choices in what plants to start with or when to plant - stuff that experienced gardeners would know.

I'd probably want a container garden.

I live in middle Georgia, so the weather's not really warm or cool right now even though it's winter.
    Oliver2011 Posts: 2,606, Reputation: 746
    Ultra Member

Jan 16, 2013, 08:18 AM
    Sounds like a fun hobby to start. There are a ton of things available online such as:

24 Tips For Beginning Gardeners - Garden Plants and Gardening Forum - The Grow Spot

Just Google "Beginning Gardening" or something like that. There is probably stuff on YouTube as well.

Do you like flowers? Do you cook? Does your mom cook and would she appreciate an herb garden?
    WriterGirl_15 Posts: 79, Reputation: -3

Jan 16, 2013, 08:55 AM
    Thanks Oliver! This link looks like an awesome help.
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Jan 16, 2013, 11:33 AM
    We live in Woodstock, just above Atlanta. You are in a different USDA zone and need plants that will tolerate heat. I would suggest containers. No cool weather crops now, too late. You can plant radishes, snap peas and some herbs like rosemary. In the summer, peppers, grape tomatoes egg plañt all tolerate heat and containers but avoid intense afternoon sun. Check with your county extension service. Our daughter lives in Perry.
    548susie Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 31, 2013, 09:27 PM