Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    strong__dan Posts: 41, Reputation: 2

Oct 27, 2008, 11:34 AM
    Upset and don't know what to do
    I'm currently in my second year of university and I'm trying to get into dentistry! In order to get into that I need to 2 years of high marks of arts and sciences. This year I have trying really really hard, I got into tests knowing everything but yet, I have failed every midterm. I'm really upset and its not like I'm not trying! I really want to do this I just don' think its possible and I don't want it to take 20 years. What should I do? Can I do this? I feel like giving up and I'm always so upset and down
    AWess Posts: 59, Reputation: 2

Oct 27, 2008, 05:39 PM

Strong Dan,

Yes, you can do this! You seem to have a great deal of motivation and it's one main thing many students lack. Yet, you have it, then GO FOR IT!

You're saying you've been trying really hard, yet you've failed your midterm exams. Have you studied the right stuff or studied the wrong stuff too hard? Might be the reason you couldn't get better grades. Are you stressed out during exams? Do you study at the last minute or study constantly throughout the semester? Think about it. Think about what you could do to improve your performance. Also, do you understand every concept or do you simply memorize?

If you're too stressed out and too anxious about not being able to make it into dentistry, it won't make your performance any better. Have you considered talking to a counselor? They might be able to help, give you tips on what exactly you should be working on. Also, consider a tutor if you struggle with your courses. Anything could help.